CCA Newsletter
16/17 CCA Members

2017 Banquet Pictures


‎Gatorade is the Official Sports Fuel Provider of CCA. Gatorade products are approved by CCA to be consumed by CCA high school athletes

Click here for Information on Gatorade's Athlete of the Year as well as AOY in all sports




61st Annual California Coaches Association

Coach of the Year/Hall of Fame Banquet

No Host Bar starts at 5:00

Dinner Starts at 6:00


Will be held June 16th in San Diego at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in San Diego. More information coming on Reservations and Banquet Time.
You can purchase tickets online using the mini-cart below.
$70 per person. You can add more attendees at checkout.

Name of Attendee



CCA Congratulates the 2017-18 Hall of Fame and Coaches of the Year.

Hall of Fame

Steve Vickery


El Capitan

Dave White



Randy Burgess

Water Polo, Swimming


Bill Barnell

Water Polo

Newport Harbor

CCA Special Awards

John Corona

Fukushima Leadership


Gary Chapman

Rockwell Distinguished Service

Chula Vista

Louis Farrar

Jim Brownfield Mentor

Charter Oak

Wayne Wilson

Casey Conrad

LA 84

Jess Kearney

Rob Strelow Media Award

San Diego Union-Tribune

Coaches of the Year
Boys Athletic Director
Warren Reed
Girls Athletic Director
Sandy Gahring
Boys Assistant Coach
Roger Enderson
Mt. Carmel
Field Hockey
Justina Williams
Archbishop Mitty
John Diatte
Valley Christian
Boys Basketball
Arnold Zelaya
Mission (SF)
Girls Basketball
Robbie Sandoval
Mt. Miguel
Boys Cross Country
Bill Vice
La Costa Canyon
Girls Cross Country
Roman Gomez
Belmont High
Kelly King
Girls Golf
Lori Howe
Grover Cleveland
Boys Soccer
Frank Zimmerman
Girls Soccer
Jennifer Guinn
Temecula Valley
Sharon Props
Del Campo
Boys Swimming
Tim McCormick
Oak Ridge
Girls Swimming
Jane Worden/Brett Koerten
Girls Tennis
Derek Lowe
Grover Cleveland
Boys Track and Field
Chris Schultz
Girls Track and Field
Veronica Amarasekara
Boys Volleyball
David Jones
La Jolla
Girls Volleyball
Samantha Hilvers
Boys Water Polo
Sean Castillo
Girls Water Polo
Eric Rise
Boys Wrestling
Troy Tirapelle
Girls Wrestling
Danny Harris
San Pasqual
Boys Official
Byron Price
San Diego
Girls Official
Megan Johnson-Barker
The Hall of Fame and Coach of the Year Awards will be held in San Diego at the Crowne Plaza Hotel on June 16. More information on reservations and lodging will be on this site within the week.

BANQUET: Saturday, June 16, 2018
6:00 P.M. - no host cocktails at 5:00 P.M.
Crowne Plaza, San Diego
2270 Hotel Circle North
San Diego, CA 92108
(619) 297-1101

BANQUET TICKETS: Each award recipient will receive one (1) ticket to the awards banquet
(to be picked up at the banquet door that evening). Additional tickets may be purchased at $70.00 each and should be ordered by June 9, 2018

ROOM ACCOMMODATIONS: The Crowne Plaza Hotel will be the host for the CCA Banquet,  Reserve rooms by May 18th to receive this special group rate of $125  (1-888-257-7930).
For those of you flying into San Diego, there is a shuttle service to and from the hotel, however the service is not free! (approximately $15).  Parking is $7 per day special room rate for Cal Coaches.




Hall of Fame/Coach of the Year/and CCA Special Awards Nominations

If you woul like to nominate Coaches or Individuals for CCA Awards the link to the forms is located on the left hand column. Deadline for awards to be received if February 15th. Nominations can be eith emailed in or sent by mail.


Article by Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers on the values of

being a multiple sport athlete in high school.


Want to sign up for a CIF Newsletter?

Special Information for Coaches and Athletic Directors from the CIF

State CIF Website


Need NCAA Information for your student/athletes?

Check out this link to the NCAA.


Have an important item you would like to have Cal Coaches members be aware of. Send us email and a link and we will put it up here.


Have a Question? Contact us at calcoachesassociation@gmail.com